Lionel Messi crowned playmaker of the decade

Lionel Messi crowned playmaker of the decade

The International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) has published a rating of the best playmakers of the past decade. From 2011-2020, a yearly vote was held to pick the world’s top 20 playmakers. Depending on their performance the previous season, each player was awarded points, the top player got 20 points, the second 19 points and so on.

The Barcelona and Argentine national forward Lionel Messi was thus crowned the decade’s best playmaker. In total, Messi received 174 points, with the Argentine ace taking top spot in the ratings in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2019 as well as second spot in 2011, 2014, 2018 and 2020. Former Barcelona and Spain midfielder Andres Iniesta finished runner-up with 127 points, whilst Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric clinched third spot with 113 points.

The 20 top playmakers from 2011-2020:

Lionel Messi (174 points)
Andres Iniesta (127 points)
Luka Modric (113 points)
Kevin De Bruyne (103 points)
Toni Kroos (90 points)
Eden Hazard (77 points)
Neymar (71 points)
Mesut Ozil (69 points)
Andrea Pirlo (63 points)
Yaya Toure (60 points)
Xavi Hernandez (55 points)
Cristiano Ronaldo (54 points)
David Silva (52 points)
James Rodriguez (42 points)
Bastian Schweinsteiger (40 points)
Christian Eriksen (38 points)
Riyad Mahrez (38 points)
Paul Pogba (35 points)
Thiago Alcantara (33 point)
Isco (25 points)

font loading