Mourinho crowned World’s Best Coach of the 21st Century by IFFHS

Mourinho crowned World’s Best Coach of the 21st Century by IFFHS

The International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) have published a list of the world’s best coaches of the 21st century (2001-2020), with Tottenham manager Jose Mourinho taking top spot. The Special One, who has also been named as one of UEFA’s 10 legendary coaches, pipped Germany boss Joachim Löw to first place, with Man City supremo Pep Guardiola and former Man United manager Sir Alex Ferguson rounding out the top 4.

IFFHS determined the best coach of the 21st century by adding up the scores from every “Coach of the Year” vote from the last 20 years. Such votes have featured the best 20 club and 20 international managers (for the relevant year), with each of them receiving a points total based on where they place in the rankings (i.e. 20 points for finishing 1st and 1 point for finishing 20th). The Special One received a total of 226 points, as he was crowned World’s Best Club Coach in 2004, 2005, 2010 and 2012 and regularly finished in the top 10.

According to IFFHS, the best coaches of the 21st century (2001-2020) are:

Jose Mourinho — 226 points.
Joachim Löw — 213 points.
Pep Guardiola — 183 points.
Аlex Ferguson — 183 points.
Arsene Wenger — 181 points.
Carlo Ancelotti — 165 points.
Vincente Del Bosque — 157 points.
Diego Simeone — 152 points.
Didier Deschamps — 131 points.
Marcelo Bielsa — 121 points.
Fabio Cappello — 120 points.
Gus Hiddink — 112 points.
Luis Felipe Scolari — 110 points.
Rafael Benitez — 103 points.
МаrcelloLippi — 100 points.

font loading